Academic Catalog

University Regulations

Changes of Rules and Policies

Although every effort has been made to assure the accuracy of the information in this catalog, students and others who use this catalog should note that laws, rules, and policies change from time to time and that these changes might alter the information contained in this publication. Changes may come in the form of statutes enacted by the Legislature, rules and policies adopted by The Board of Trustees of the California State University, by the Chancellor or designee of the California State University, or by the President or designee of the campus. It is not possible in a publication of this size to include all of the rules, policies and other information that pertain to students, the institution, and the California State University. More current or complete information may be obtained from the appropriate department, school, or administrative office.

Nothing in this catalog shall be construed as, operate as or have the effect of an abridgment or a limitation of any rights, powers, or privileges of The Board of Trustees of the California State University, the Chancellor of the California State University, or the President of the campus. The Trustees, the Chancellor, and the President are authorized by law to adopt, amend, or repeal rules and policies that apply to students. This catalog does not constitute a contract or the terms and conditions of a contract between the student and the campus or the California State University. The relationship of students to the campus and the California State University is one governed by statute, rules, and policy adopted by the Legislature, the Trustees, the Chancellor, the Presidents and their duly authorized designees.

CSU Immunization Requirements

Entering CSU students are required to present proof of the following immunizations to the CSU campus they will be attending before the beginning of their first term of enrollment.

Measles and Rubella: All new and readmitted students must provide proof of full immunization against measles and rubella prior to enrollment.

Hepatitis B: All new students who will be 18 years of age or younger at the start of their first term at a CSU campus must provide proof of full immunization against Hepatitis B before enrolling. Full immunization against Hepatitis B consists of three timed doses of vaccine over a minimum 4 to 6 months’ period. If you need further details or have special circumstances, please consult the Student Health Center at (310) 243-3629.

Meningococcal Disease Information: Each incoming freshman who will be residing in on-campus housing will be required to return a form indicating that they have received information about meningococcal disease and the availability of the vaccine to prevent contracting the disease and indicating whether or not the student has chosen to receive the vaccination.

The above are not admission requirements, but are required of students as conditions of enrollment in CSU.

Note: The CSU anticipates a policy change to the immunization requirements for the 2017-2018 academic year.

First Class Meeting

Students should report to the first meeting of their scheduled classes. (Check the Class Schedule for room numbers.) Students are responsible for attendance and will earn grades in the courses and specific sections in which they have enrolled.

Prior to the end of the second week of classes, an instructor may, by following the appropriate procedures, initiate a formal drop of students who:

  • have missed the first two class meetings of a term (or the first meeting if the class meets only once a week), and
  • have not advised the instructor (or the department chair, if no instructor was assigned to the course in advance) that their absence is temporary.

The instructor should inform the Registrar of this action by the end of the second week.

It is, however, the responsibility of the student to make certain that his/her drop has been officially recorded. Continued absence from a class for which a student has not been dropped by the instructor may yield an unauthorized incomplete ("WU" grade) which is computed as an "F". Students who are in doubt as to whether or not an instructor has dropped them from the class should check before the end of the Change of Program (Add/Drop) period.

Change of Name or Address

Current and former students may change their legal name by submitting a change of name/address form to the Office of Admissions and Records. Appropriate state or court issued documentation that indicates a name change along with a valid photo identification card must be included with this form. The documentation can included but is not limited to the following:

  • Marriage License
  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Adoption/Birth Certificate
  • Divorce Decree (stating restored name)
  • Court Order
  • Alien Registration Card

The documentation submitted must include the student's new and former name.

Current students may change their preferred name, which is the name the student wishes to be commonly known as, if different from their legal name.   

Except when the use of an individual’s legal (or primary) name is required by law, current students may be identified by a preferred name. California State University, Dominguez Hills wishes to allow its community to use a preferred name in order to give members an empowering, safe, and nondiscriminatory university experience.  Every member of the campus community should feel empowered to be called by the name of their choosing. Equally important, no one should feel pressure to change their name for the acceptance or convenience of others.

A student may change their preferred first and/or middle names on their student center, My.CSUDH.edu. The student’s preferred name will be visible in the below areas, and may be subject to change:

  • My.CSUDH.edu
  • Class Rosters
  • Grade Rosters
  • Faculty Center - Class/Grade Roster
  • Advisee Student Center – all tabs within advisee student services center
  • Academic Requirements Reports

Preferred names will not be used for official university record purposes such as enrollment verification, official transcripts, employment and payroll records, and, but not limited to, financial aid. Additionally, changing the preferred name will not change a student’s email address that appears in the student’s record.

Any attempt to misuse preferred name policy for purposes of misrepresentation or fraud may result in a violation of the Student Conduct code and be referred to the Office of Student Life.

Change of Program after Registration

A change of program after registration is any change made in a student's official schedule. Changes include dropping a class, adding a class, changing the number of units for a class in which the student is registered and changing from one section to another of the same course.

A change of program must be made before the deadline date listed for each semester in the official University Academic Calendar.

Adding Classes

All classes, regardless of their start date, must be added no later than student census. To add a course during the first three weeks of instruction, instructor approval is required. Instructors provide approval by issuing a Late Registration Permission Number (LRPN) for the course. Late Registration Permission Numbers expire at the end of the third week of the semester and should be used as soon as possible. To add classes the fourth week of the semester, students must submit a Change of Program form with signatures from the class instructor, the program chair, and the dean to the Registrar's Office.

Official Withdrawal from a Course

See the Academic Calendar for specific deadline dates for withdrawing from courses during a particular term.

Prior to the Start of the Term

Students may drop prior to the start of the term/semester without penalty or record of enrollment. Drops or withdrawals that occur during this period are not included in the Undergraduate 18 unit limit. Students dropping all courses during this period will not incur a prorated fee assessment.

Weeks 1-3

During the first three weeks of each semester, students may drop all or a portion of their classes via MyCSUDH without approval of the instructor. No grade is assigned, and the enrollment does not appear on the student's permanent record. Drops or withdrawals during this period do not count against the undergraduate 18 unit limit. Students dropping all courses during this period will incur a prorated fee assessment.

Exception: Department Chair approval is required in order to drop developmental English and Math courses.

Week 4

After the third week of classes but before student census, students can drop courses by submitting a Change of Program (Add/Drop) form and signatures form and signatures with signatures from the course instructor and program chair to the Registrar's Office. Students dropping courses during this period will incur a prorated fee.

Weeks 5-12

An administrative grade of "W" may be assigned up to the end of week 12 provided the student's withdrawal request form lists serious and compelling reasons, and has the approval of the instructor and the department chair (or dean). Documentation is required before such a withdrawal is approved. Drops and withdrawals during this period will count against the undergraduate 18 unit limit.

Weeks 13-15

Withdrawals shall not be permitted during this period of instruction except in cases, such as accident or serious illness, where the cause of withdrawal is due to circumstances clearly beyond the student's control and the assignment of an Incomplete is not practical. Withdrawals during this time of the semester are only allowable for all classes. Permission to withdraw during this time shall be granted only with the approval of the instructor, department chair, and dean. Documentation is required before such a withdrawal is approved. A reason for withdrawal must be provided for all requests to withdraw during this period. Withdrawals that occur during this period will not count against the Undergraduate 18 unit withdrawal limit.

Final Exams

Once final examinations begin, no drops or withdrawals are allowed. A student who does not officially withdraw shall receive "F," "WU," or "NC" grades for all courses on his/her official record.

Prior to the Start of the Term

Students may drop prior to the start of the term/semester without penalty or record of enrollment. Drops or withdrawals that occur during this period are not included in the Undergraduate 18 unit limit. Students dropping all courses during this period will not incur a prorated fee assessment.

Weeks 1-3

During the first three weeks of each semester a student may drop all or a portion of their classes via MyCSUDH without approval of the instructor. No grade is assigned, and the enrollment does not appear on the student's permanent record. Drops or withdrawals during this period do not count against the undergraduate 18 unit limit. Students dropping all courses during this period will incur a prorated fee assessment.

Exception:  Department Chair approval is required in order to drop developmental English and Math courses.

Week 4

After the third week of classes but before student census, students can drop courses by submitting a Change of Program (Add/Drop) form and signatures form and signatures with signatures from the course instructor and program chair to the Office of Admissions and Records. Students dropping courses during this period will incur a prorated fee.

Weeks 5-12

An administrative grade of "W" may be assigned up to the end of week 12 provided the student's withdrawal request form lists serious and compelling reasons. Permission to withdraw during this time shall be granted only with the approval of the instructor and the department chair (or dean). Documentation may be required before such a withdrawal is approved. Drops and withdrawals during this period will count against the undergraduate 18 unit limit.

Weeks 13-15

Withdrawals shall not be permitted during this period of instruction except in cases, such as accident or serious illness, where the cause of withdrawal is due to circumstances clearly beyond the student's control and the assignment of an Incomplete is not practical. Withdrawals during this time of the semester are only allowable for all classes. Permission to withdraw during this time shall be granted only with the approval of the instructor, department chair, and dean. Documentation is required before such a withdrawal is approved. A reason for withdrawal must be provided for all requests to withdraw during this period. Withdrawals that occur during this period will not count against the Undergraduate 18 unit withdrawal limit.

Final Exams

Once final examinations begin, no drops or withdrawals are allowed. A student who does not officially withdraw shall receive "F," "WU," or "NC" grades for all courses on his/her official record.

Grading

Credit Hour

On July 1, 2020, the United States Department of Education changed its definition of the student credit hour. Fundamentally, the change now shifts responsibility for credit hour compliance to the accreditation agency and/or to the state.

As such, the CSU’s accreditor, the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), has published its own updated definition of student credit hour and related accreditation processes. The new regulations no longer require an accrediting agency to review an institution’s credit hour policy and procedures. It does require the WSCUC to review the institution’s definition of credit hour and (as a newly introduced practice) an institutions’ processes and policies for ensuring the credit hour policy is followed.

The CSU credit hour definition is consistent with federal law (600.2 and 600.4 revised July 1, 2020) and the requirements of the WSCUC. The CSU defines a credit hour as an amount of work represented in stated learning outcomes and verified by evidence of student achievement. Such evidence is an institutionally established equivalency that:

  1. Approximates not less than:
    1. One hour of direct faculty instruction and a minimum of two hours of out-of-class student work each week for approximately 15 weeks for one semester or equivalent amount of work over a different amount of time; or

    2. At least an equivalent amount of work as required in paragraph 1.a. of this definition for other academic activities as established by the institution including laboratory work, internships, practica, studio work and other academic work leading to the award of credit hours; and

  2. Permits an institution, in determining the amount of work associated with a credit hour, to take into account a variety of delivery methods, measurements of student work, academic calendars, disciplines and degree levels. Institutions have the flexibility to award a greater number of credits for courses that require more student work.

As in the past, a credit hour is assumed to be a 50-minute (not 60-minute) period. In some courses, such as those offered online, in which "seat time" does not apply, a credit hour may be measured by an equivalent amount of work, as demonstrated by student achievement.

For purposes of accreditation, all CSU campuses are required to develop, communicate and implement procedures for regular, periodic review of this credit hour policy to ensure that credit hour assignments are accurate, reliable and consistently applied. WSCUC published new draft guidelines that will take effect in June 2021. Campuses will be responsible (effective summer 2021) for publishing a clearly stated practice or process that ensures they are in compliance with the student credit hour definition. 

Grades and Grade Points

Student performance in each course is reported at the end of each semester by one of the following grades (with the grade points earned):

Grade Description Grade Points
A Excellent 4.0
A- 3.7
B+ 3.3
B Very Good 3.0
B- 2.7
C+ 2.3
C Satisfactory 2.0
C- 1.7
D+ 1.3
D Barely Passing 1.0
F Failure 0.0
I Incomplete (Not counted in grade point average)
IC Incomplete Charged
WU Withdrawal Unauthorized
W Withdrawal (Not counted in grade point average)

The following grades are to be used for approved courses only:

Grade Description Grade Points
AU Audit (Not counted in grade point average; no units allowed)
CR Credit (Not counted in grade point average; but units count for bachelor's degree)
NC No credit (Not counted in grade point average; no units allowed)
RP Report in Progress (Credit is deferred until completion of course)
CR* Graduate Continuation Course

Explanation of Grading Symbols

I, IC, WU, W, CR, NC, RP, RD

Incomplete Grade (I). The symbol "I" (Incomplete Authorized) indicates that a portion of required course work has not been completed and evaluated in the prescribed time period due to unforeseen, but fully justified, reasons and that there is still a possibility of earning credit. It is the responsibility of the student to bring pertinent information to the attention of the instructor and to determine from the instructor the remaining course requirements, which must be satisfied to remove the "Incomplete." A final grade is assigned when the work agreed upon has been completed and evaluated. This approval will indicate that the department has made provisions for assuring that the student's work will be graded and that a Change of Grade form will be submitted to the Registrar's Office.

An "Incomplete" must normally be made up within one calendar year following the end of the term during which it was assigned. However, an extension may be granted by petition for contingencies such as intervening military service and serious health or personal problems. If the "Incomplete" is not converted to a credit-bearing grade within the prescribed time limit, or any extension thereof, it shall be counted as a failing grade in calculating grade point average and progress points unless the faculty member has assigned another grade in accordance with campus policy.

Normally, the student is responsible for applying for the grade of "Incomplete" and for obtaining instructor approval for the assignment of this grade. In exceptional circumstances, the assignment of the "Incomplete" may be initiated by the instructor. For each "Incomplete" grade assigned, the instructor will complete a Request for Incomplete Grade on which he or she will indicate:

  1. The reason for granting the "Incomplete;"
  2. The amount or nature of the work to be completed;
  3. The date by which the student must make up the work.

This limitation prevails whether or not the student maintains continuous enrollment. Failure to complete the assigned work will result in an "Incomplete" being converted to an "IC" symbol (Failing grade for grade point average computation), unless the faculty member assigns a specific letter grade at the time the Incomplete is assigned, which would replace the "I" in the student's record after the calendar year deadline.

The student is responsible for contacting the instructor (or the department, in cases where the instructor is unavailable) regarding the provisions for completion of course work. A definitive grade for the term is recorded when the work has been completed. An "Incomplete" grade cannot be removed by repeating the course. A student may not re-enroll in a course for which he or she has received an "I" until a grade (e.g. A-F, IC, NC) is given. Students re-enrolled in a course for which an "I" was granted will be dropped from the course at the time the "I" grade is received from the instructor. The grade will be automatically recorded as an "IC" or "NC" if the work is not completed and grade changed within a year.

Change of Grade forms for removal of "Incomplete" grades in courses required for graduation must be submitted by the last day of the semester or session of anticipated graduation.

Change of Grade forms are available in academic departmental offices. It is the student's responsibility to initiate the process and have the instructor submit the Change of Grade form to the Registrar's Office within the time period allowed. No grades can be changed for any reason after a degree has been granted.

Incomplete Charged (IC). The "IC" symbol may be used when a student who received an authorized incomplete "I" has not completed the required course work within the allowed time limit. The "IC" replaces the "I" and is counted as a failing grade for grade point average and progress point computation.

Withdrawal Unauthorized (WU). The symbol "WU" shall be used when a student, who was enrolled on the census date, did not withdraw from the course and also failed to complete course requirements. It is used when, in the opinion of the instructor, completed assignments or course activities or both were insufficient to make normal evaluation of academic performance possible. The "WU" is used where letter grades are assigned. For purposes of grade point average computation, is equivalent to an "F". Unlike the "I" grade, the "WU" grade may not be changed by submitting additional work. Rather, the student must re-enroll in the course and, if appropriate, use the repeat and cancel process.

Withdrawal (W). Students who withdraw in accordance with the procedures outlined in the preceding section on official withdrawal will have the administrative grade "W" recorded on their transcripts if the withdrawal is approved and occurs between the 4th and 15th weeks of instruction. The symbol "W" indicates that the student was permitted to withdraw from the course after the 3rd week of instruction with the approval of the instructor and appropriate campus officials. It carries no connotation of quality of student performance and is not used in calculating grade point average or progress points.

A student who does not officially withdraw shall receive "F," "WU," or "NC" grades for all courses on his/her official schedule.

Credit/No Credit Grades (CR/NC) and A-CR/NC: Undergraduate. Certain courses, designated in the University Catalog, are graded on a Credit/No Credit (CR/NC) basis only. Other departmentally designated courses in basic skills reasoning and departmentally designated upper division composition courses replace the "A-F" grading system with an "A-C/NC" system.

Students may elect to be graded on a "CR/NC" basis in other courses, subject to the guidelines below. "CR/NC" grades affect the grade point average in the ways described below:

  1. Courses used to satisfy a major (both upper and lower divisions), or which are prerequisite to them, must be taken for a letter grade except when such courses are graded solely on a "CR/NC" basis. A student is permitted to enroll in up to 50 percent of the units required by a minor on a credit/no credit basis, unless otherwise specified elsewhere in the University Catalog under specific requirements for a minor.
  2. No more than 24 units graded "CR/NC'', whether taken at this or another institution, may be offered in satisfaction of the total units required for a bachelor's degree. If 24 units graded "CR/NC" are accepted in transfer, no additional courses graded "CR/NC" may be used to satisfy degree requirements, except when a required course is graded solely on a "CR/NC" basis. (All credits earned in the CLEP testing program may count even if they make the cumulative total of all "CR/NC" units at that time over 24.)
  3. Selection of the CR/NC grading option must be made during the first three weeks of instruction. Forms are available in the Office of the Registrar and on the Admissions and Records website.
  4. Students who plan to apply to Law School should know that the Law School Data Assembly Service evaluates a "NC" grade in CR/NC class as a failing grade.

Both Credit (CR) and No Credit (NC) grades are recorded on student transcripts.

The undergraduate Credit grade is the equivalent of an "A," "A-," "B+," "B," "B-," "C+," or "C"; and the "NC" grade is the equivalent of a "C-", "D+", "D", or "F."
"CR/NC" grades are not computed in overall or semester grade point averages.

Credit/No Credit (CR/NC): Post baccalaureate and Graduate Students.

  1. Graduate courses graded on a "CR/NC" basis are limited to courses specifically designated in the University Catalog for nontraditional grading and to certain 400 and 500 level courses in the School of Education.
  2. At the graduate level, "CR" is the equivalent of an "A," "A-," "B+," or "B"; and "NC" is the equivalent of "B-," "C+," "C," "C-," "D+," "D" or "F."
  3. At least 24 of the units used to fulfill the requirements for a master's degree shall be graded on a traditional basis. The remaining units may be graded "CR/NC," if the course is offered only on that basis.
  4. Graduate level students are allowed to elect to receive Credit/No Credit grades in courses numbered below 500 that will not be used to satisfy the requirements of a graduate degree program.

Report in Progress (RP). The "RP" symbol is used in connection with courses that extend beyond one academic term. It indicates that work is in progress but that assignment of a final grade must await completion of additional work. Work is to be completed within one year except for graduate degree theses.

The "RP" symbol shall be used in connection with thesis, project, and similar courses in which assigned work frequently extends beyond a single academic term and may include enrollment in more than one term. The "RP" symbol shall be replaced with the appropriate final grade within one year of its assignment except for master's thesis enrollment, in which case the time limit shall be established by the appropriate campus authority. The president or designee may authorize extension of established time limits.

Report Delayed (RD). The "RD" symbol may be used where a delay in the reporting of a grade is due to circumstances beyond the control of the student. The symbol may be assigned by the registrar only and, if assigned, shall be replaced by a substantive grading symbol as soon as possible. An "RD" shall not be used in calculating grade point average or progress points. Although no catalog statement is required, whenever the symbol is employed, an explanatory note shall be included in the transcript legend. The registrar shall notify both the instructor of record and the department chair within two weeks of the assignment of RD grades.

Auditing a Class

A student not admitted to, nor enrolled in, the University must file a Statement of Residence prior to auditing a course. A residence determination must be made so that appropriate fees may be charged.

Auditors must pay the same fees as would be charged if the courses were taken for credit. A student who wishes to audit a course must obtain the approval of the instructor on the Approval for Audit form available in the Registrar's Office. The approval may not be obtained prior to the first day of instruction. Enrollment as an auditor is subject to permission of the instructor provided that enrollment in a course as an auditor shall be permitted only after students otherwise eligible to enroll on a credit basis have had an opportunity to do so. Auditors are subject to the same fee structure as credit students and regular class attendance is expected. Once enrolled as an auditor, a student may not change to credit status unless such a change is requested no later than the last day to add classes in that tern. A student who is enrolled for credit may not change to audit after the third week of instruction. Credit for courses audited will not subsequently be granted on the basis of the audit. An audited course should be taken into consideration when planning a program so that the study load will not be excessive. The symbol AU will appear on the student's record for audited courses.

Grade Point Average

The grade point average at CSU Dominguez Hills is computed on a 4-point scale. A specified number of grade points is associated with each grade listed in the "Grades and Grade Points" section. "CR/NC" grades have no grade point value and are not calculated in the grade point average.

The total grade points are calculated by multiplying the number of grade points associated with the grade assigned by the number of units for each class. The grade point average is computed by dividing the total number of grade points earned by the total number of units attempted.

Grade Point Average Required for Continuing Student Status

Undergraduate students are required to maintain a cumulative grade point average of 2.0 in all college courses, all courses taken at CSU Dominguez Hills, and in all courses in the declared major(s) and minor. In order to be eligible for graduation, students must be in good academic standing, must have an overall GPA of 2.0 or above, and must have a grade point average of 2.0 in all courses used to fulfill the degree requirements. See "Undergraduate Academic Probation and Disqualification" for specific grade point averages required for ongoing enrollment.

Undeclared Post baccalaureate and Credential Students. A grade point average of 2.5 is required for course work taken by students in undeclared Post baccalaureate and credential status. See "Graduate and Post baccalaureate Academic Probation and Disqualification" for specific requirements.

Master's Degree Students. A grade point average of 3.0 is required in the master's degree program and for all courses (related and unrelated, lower division, upper division, and graduate) taken concurrently with the master's degree program (i.e., all courses taken beginning with the date of admission to the program). In order to be eligible for graduation, students must be in good academic standing, must have an overall GPA of 3.0 or above, and must have a grade point average of 3.0 in all courses used to fulfill the degree requirements. See "Graduate and Post baccalaureate Academic Probation and Disqualification" for specific grade point averages required for ongoing enrollment.

Grade Changes, Grade Appeals and Repeat and Cancel

Change of Grade

In general, all course grades are final when filed by the instructor at the end of the semester.

A change of letter-to-letter grade (excluding changes by petition and administrative grades of "AU," "I," "RD," "RP," "W," and "WU") may occur only in cases of clerical error, administrative error, or as a disciplinary sanction or when the instructor reevaluates the original course assignments of a student and discovers an error in the original evaluation. Change of letter-to-letter grades must be filed by the instructor within one semester after the original grade was submitted. If the change of grade is initiated after the semester following the assignment of the original grade or is being submitted for any reason other than those above, a petition must be filed along with a Change of Grade card. The Change of Grade card must contain the signatures of the instructor, department chair, and school dean. It must be submitted with the signed petition to the Student Academic Petitions and Appeals Committee (SAPAC) for action. Supporting documentation must accompany the petition.

In some cases, students may wish to petition to have grades changed to retroactive withdrawals. Retroactive withdrawals must be complete withdrawals from the university. The acceptable reasons for granting retroactive withdrawals are limited to:

  1. documented accident or illness,
  2. other serious and compelling reasons which prevent withdrawal from the university before the scheduled deadline and/or
  3. evidence of timely submission of proper forms for withdrawal.

Requests for retroactive withdrawals must be submitted by petition to the Student Academic Petitions and Appeals Committee within two years of the end of the semester in which the grade was assigned.

"WU" or "F" grades may be changed to "W" by petition only.

This process generally requires documentation of extenuating circumstances, such as physical inability to appear on campus to properly withdraw. The petition requires the recommendation of the instructor involved and of the appropriate school dean. A final action is taken by the Student Academic Petitions and Appeals Committee based upon the recommendations provided.

No grades can be changed for any reason after a degree has been granted, including administrative grades of "I," "RD," "RP," "W," and "WU." The university shall make every effort to remove "RDs" from the student's transcript.

Grade Appeals

Students may appeal undergraduate or graduate grades which they believe were the result of instructor, computational, or clerical error or contrary to procedures established in course syllabi; or were prejudicial or capricious.

Before initiating a formal grade appeal, students will seek informal resolution with the instructor or Department Chair. Informal resolution requires the student to meet with the faculty member or Department Chair no later than 30 calendar days immediately following the assignment of the original grade. This time line may be extended if the student requests and receives an extension from the College Dean or can demonstrate extenuating circumstances for the submission of a grade appeal beyond 30 calendar days. If the matter is not resolved with the instructor or Department Chair, the student may submit a formal grade appeal, in writing, to the Dean of the College within 21 calendar days after receiving the decision of the instructor or Department Chair. Instructions for this submission are outlined in the Student Rights and Responsibilities Handbook,http://www.csudh.edu/admissions-records/records/grade/index#appeals

The College Dean will investigate the student claim and attempt to resolve the appeal within 21 calendar days. If the matter is not resolved in the college the appeal is forwarded to the Student Grade Appeals Board. The review process and procedures of the Student Grade Appeals Board are detailed in the Student Rights and Responsibilities Handbook. A panel of two faculty members and one student member from the Board reviews the appeal materials and determine by majority vote whether or not cause exists for a grade change. A written decision of the panel will be sent to the student appellant and all individuals involved in the appeal.

Repeat and Cancel Policy

Repeat and Cancel may be used by students working toward a baccalaureate degree. It may not be used by graduate/post-baccalaureate students working on master's degrees, graduate certificates, teaching credentials, or by "undeclared" graduate students, even when they might take undergraduate courses.

  1. In the case of a repeated course, the subsequent grade is substituted for the earlier one in the computation of units attempted and grade point average. The previous course grade(s) remain(s) on the record, but is/are annotated as being discounted from grade point average calculations.
  2. Repeat and Cancel may only be used on courses taken at CSU Dominguez Hills and repeated at CSU Dominguez Hills through Open University, regular university or special sessions.
  3. Beginning Fall 2009, Repeat and Cancel may be used for no more than 16 semester units taken at CSU Dominguez Hills during the entire undergraduate degree program.
  4. Undergraduate students may be permitted to repeat an additional 12 units, i.e. units in addition to the 16 units for which grade forgiveness is permitted. In such instances the repeat grade shall not replace the original grade, instead, both grades shall be calculated into the student's overall grade-point average.
  5. Undergraduate students may repeat an individual course no more than two times.
  6. Repeat and Cancel may be used only on grades of "WU," "F," "D," "D+," "C-," "IC."
  7. Students must complete a Notice of Repeated Course form for each course repeated that meets all Repeat and Cancel policy guidelines if the original course was taken prior to fall 2008 or if they wish to select which eligible courses are to be excluded from the grade point average computation.
  8. A grade entered as a result of the student disciplinary procedures under Executive Order No. 628 cannot be cancelled and will be included in the grade point average.
  9. Graduate and post baccalaureate students may repeat courses; however, the two grades will be averaged into the total grade point average. Credit for the courses will be granted only once and courses may be repeated only once.

Concurrent Enrollment at a Non-CSU Institution

Concurrent enrollment in resident courses or in extension courses in a non-CSU institution is permitted only when the entire program has received the approval of the departmental major advisor. This approval must be obtained before any course work is started. The purpose of this procedure is to ensure that all courses taken elsewhere will meet the requirements of the University and that the total program will not constitute an excessive study load.

It is the student's responsibility to ensure that all work completed during his/her term of graduation is completed prior to the established CSU Dominguez Hills degree date. Work completed at another institution after the established CSU Dominguez Hills degree date cannot be used to satisfy graduation requirements until the next term.

Cross Enrollment

Undergraduate students enrolled at CSUDH may enroll, without formal admission and without payment of additional State University fees, in one transferable course each academic term at participating campuses of the University of California or California Community Colleges, on a space available basis for $10.00.

A CSUDH student must meet all of the following conditions to enroll at a University of California or Community College campus:

  • Must be an undergraduate.
  • Must be enrolled in at least 6 units at CSUDH during the semester of Cross Enrollment and show proof of payment of registration fees.
  • Must be a California resident.
  • Must have completed at least 12 units with a GPA of at least 2.0.
  • The course (which must be transferable) must be pre-approved by the University Advisement Center before you take your application to the Cross Enrollment campus for processing.

A University of California or California Community College student coming to CSUDH must meet all of the following conditions:

  • Must have completed at least one term at the home campus as a matriculated student.
  • Must be enrolled at home campus in at least 6 units during the term of Cross Enrollment.
  • Must have a GPA of 2.0 for work completed.
  • Must have paid appropriate tuition and fees at home campus for current term.
  • Must have completed appropriate academic preparation as determined by CSUDH University Advisement Center.
  • Must provide an official transcript with Cross Enrollment Application to University Advisement Center.
  • Must be a California resident.
  • Other condition specified on the Cross Enrollment form pertaining to registration procedures, deadlines and priorities of host campus.

Intrasystem and Intersystem Enrollment Programs

Fully matriculated students enrolled at any CSU campus have access to courses at other CSU campuses on a space available basis unless those campuses/programs are impacted. This access is offered without students being required to be formally admitted to the host campus and in most cases without paying additional fees. Students should consult their home campus academic advisors to determine how such courses may apply to their specific degree programs before enrolling at the host campus.

There are two programs for enrollment within the CSU and one for enrollment between CSU and the University of California or California Community Colleges. Additional information about these programs is available from the Registrar's Office.

CSU Fully Online Courses – Matriculated students in good standing may request enrollment in one course per term, offered by a CSU host campus. Enrollment requests will be granted based on available space, as well as completion of any stated prerequisites. Credit earned at the host campus is electronically reported to the student’s home campus to be included on the student’s transcript at the home campus.

CSU Visitor Enrollment – Matriculated students in good standing enrolled at one CSU campus may enroll at another CSU campus for one term. Credit earned at the host campus is reported at the student’s request to the home campus to be included on the student’s transcript at the home campus.

Intersystem Cross Enrollment – Matriculated CSU, UC, or community college students may enroll on a “space available” basis for one course per term at another CSU, UC, or community college and request that a transcript of record be sent to the home campus.

Eligibility Requirements

Undergraduate students must have completed at least one term at the home campus as a matriculated student, earned at least twelve units there, attained a grade point average of 2.0 or better in all work completed at the home campus, and be in good standing at that campus. Visitors must be eligible to register under continuing status at the home campus.

Graduate students must have completed at least one term at the home campus as a matriculated student, been admitted to or be enrolled in an authorized graduate program at the home campus, and be in good standing at the last college attended.

Enrollment Conditions

  1. Approval will be valid for one term only and subject to space availability, deadlines and registration priorities of host campus.
  2. Academic advisement is available only at the home campus.
  3. Evidence of completion of course prerequisites may be required at time of enrollment (i.e., transcript or grade reports).
  4. Concurrent enrollment at another CSU campus is not possible while in visitor status.
  5. Financial aid is available only through home campus and students eligible for Veterans, Rehabilitation, Social Security, and other Federal, State, or County benefits must secure eligibility certification through home campus.
  6. Program changes will be accomplished following standard procedures on both campuses. Official notification will be provided by the host campus to the home campus. If a student withdraws from the home campus and requests refund of the refundable portion of the fees, the host campus must be notified by the home campus.
  7. Permanent academic records are maintained at the host campus and sent to the student and to the home campus.
  8. Health services on host campus will be limited to treatment for emergencies.
  9. Because of overlap in the academic calendars, concurrent enrollment is possible only in certain combinations.
Home Campus Host Campus Possible Not Possible
Sem Calendar
Fall Fall Qtr or Sem Winter Quarter
Spring Spring Qtr or Sem Winter Quarter
Qtr Calendar
Fall Fall Qtr or Sem
Winter Winter Qtr or Sem
Spring Spring Qtr or Sem Spring Sem
Summer Summer Qtr

(Note: Although summer quarter concurrent enrollment is not possible for students whose home campus is on a semester calendar or on a quarter calendar without a summer quarter, enrollment in visitor status is possible.)

Home campus will be notified after a student registers at host campus and pays any required nonresident tuition and user fees.

Participation in student activities or use of the student union at the host campus is subject to any limitations set by the host campus.

Parking on the host campus will be available on the basis of a term fee within campus parking availability or on a daily fee basis.

Information concerning host campus identification card policies will be provided at registration.

Official Withdrawal from the University (Withdrawal from all Courses)

Official withdrawal is necessary if a student leaves the University at any time after registration and does not intend to complete the semester. The forms for initiating this process (Complete Withdrawal form) may be obtained from the University Information Center (WH D-245), from the Registrar's Office (WH C-290), and on the Registrar's Office web site.

When official withdrawal from the University occurs before the semester deadline for dropping classes (Student Census), there is no record of enrollment. However, if official withdrawal occurs after the student census, grades will be assigned in accordance with the policy above on "Official Withdrawal from a Course." Students withdrawing from all courses should determine if a leave of absence or graduation in absentia is appropriate. Official withdrawals that occur between weeks 4 and 12 will result in a "W" grade, and will count against the Undergraduate 18 unit limit. Official withdrawals that are approved and processed during weeks 13-15 will not count against the Undergraduate 18 unit limit. Withdrawals in excess of 18 units cannot be processed and will result in a "WU" grade, which is a failing grade included in the grade point average and progress point computations.

A student who withdraws with "W" grades shall be classified as a continuing student for the next semester.

Concurrent Course Scheduling

Students are not permitted to enroll in two or more courses that overlap in time within any given academic semester without official written approval on the Approval for Time Conflict form. Time Conflict forms are available in the Registrar's Office and on the Registrar's Office web site.

Course Information/Syllabus

During the first week of classes an instructor is to distribute to the class members printed information about the course. This course information is to include at least the following items:

  1. Course title and units.
  2. Instructor name and availability outside of the class, include office hours, office location, office telephone number and email address.
  3. Prerequisites/co-requisites for the course.
  4. Course description
  5. Student learning outcomes for the course.
  6. Required texts and other materials.
  7. Required computer software/hardware capabilities.
  8. Computer literacy skill expectations for students enrolled in the course.
  9. A specific reference to the University Catalog’s statement regarding Academic Integrity and plagiarism expectations.
  10. Course requirements, including reading and assignments, exams and other types of assessments of student work.
  11. The instructor’s grading policy including grading scale and weighted value of assignments/tests.
  12. Policy on attendance, assignment due dates and submission of late work and missed exams.
  13. A specific reference to the University Catalog’s statement regarding accommodations for individuals with disabilities including services provided by, and contact information (telephone number and emails address) of the Student disAbility Resource Center.
  14. A tentative schedule of class meetings and topics.
  15. Explicit notations (traditional/on ground vs. virtual meeting) and location of class meetings.
  16. A schedule of all assignment due dates and examinations.
  17. A policy regarding extra credit, including a statement indicating it is available to all students.
  18. A statement of expected behavioral standards that clarifies behavior expectations, as well as the consequences of disrespectful or disruptive behavior.

The instructor will submit either a printed or electronic copy, as per department policy of the syllabus each term and for each course section the course is taught. Any substantive changes to the syllabus should be communicated in a timely manner to students and department chairs. *From AA 2015-03 Syllabus Content Policy

Course Numbering System

The course numbering system for the University is based upon three-digit numbers as follows:

Course Number Description
001-099 Sub-collegiate courses, not for baccalaureate credit.
100-199 Lower division courses normally taken in the freshman year.
200-299 Lower division courses normally taken in the sophomore year.
300-399 Upper division courses normally taken in the junior year.
400-499 Upper division courses normally taken in the senior year.
500-599 Graduate courses ordinarily limited to graduate students, Post baccalaureate students, and last semester seniors with prior departmental approval.
600 Graduate Continuation Course. For graduate students who have completed all course requirements.

Nondiscrimination Policy and Complaint Procedures

Protected Status: Genetic Information, Marital Status, Medical Condition, Nationality, Race or Ethnicity (including color or ancestry), Religion or Religious Creed, and Veteran or Military Status

The California State University does not discriminate on the basis of age, genetic information, marital status, medical condition, nationality, race or ethnicity (including color and ancestry), religion (or religious creed), and veteran or military status - as these terms are defined in CSU policy - in its programs and activities, including admission and access. Federal and state laws, including Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the California Equity in Higher Education Act, prohibit such discrimination. The Assistant Vice President of Human Resources has been designated to coordinate the efforts of CSUDH to comply with all applicable federal and state laws prohibiting discrimination on these bases. Inquiries concerning compliance may be presented to this person at 1000 E. Victoria St. Welch Hall, Room 340 Carson, CA 90747. (310) 243-3771. CSU Executive Order 1097, revised August 14, 2020 (or any successor policy) is the systemwide procedure for all complaints of discrimination, harassment or retaliation made by students against the CSU, a CSU employee, other CSU students or a third party.

Protected Status: Disability

The California State University does not discriminate on the basis of Disability (physical and mental) - as this term is defined in CSU policy - in its programs and activities, including admission and access. Federal and state laws, including sections 504 and 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, prohibit such discrimination. The Assistant Vice President of Human Resources has been designated to coordinate the efforts of CSUDH to comply with all applicable federal and state laws prohibiting discrimination on the basis of disability. Inquiries concerning compliance may be presented to this person at 1000 E. Victoria St. Welch Hall, Room 340 Carson, CA 90747. (310) 243-3771. CSU Executive Order 1097, revised August 14, 2020 (or any successor policy) is the systemwide procedure for all complaints of discrimination, harassment or retaliation made by students against the CSU, a CSU employee, other CSU students or a third party.

Protected Status: Gender (or sex), Gender Identity (including transgender), Gender Expression and Sexual Orientation

The California State University does not discriminate on the basis of gender (or sex), gender identity (including transgender), gender expression or sexual orientation - as these terms are defined in CSU policy - in its programs and activities, including admission and access. Federal and state laws, including Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, prohibit such discrimination. Elizabeth Schrock, University Title IX Coordinator, has been designated to coordinate the efforts of CSUDH to comply with all applicable federal and state laws prohibiting discrimination on these bases. Inquiries concerning compliance may be presented to this person at 1000 E. Victoria St. Welch Hall, B-470 Carson, CA 90747. (310) 243-3492. The California State University is committed to providing equal opportunities to all CSU students in all campus programs, including intercollegiate athletics. CSU Executive Order 1097, revised August 14, 2020 (or any successor policy) is the systemwide procedure for all complaints of discrimination, harassment or retaliation made by students against the CSU, a CSU employee, other CSU students or a third party.

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 protects all people regardless of their gender, gender identity or gender expression from sex discrimination, which includes sexual harassment and violence:

Sex Discrimination or Gender Discrimination

Sex Discrimination or Gender Discrimination means an adverse action taken against  a student by the CSU, a CSU employee, or another student because of gender or sex (including sexual harassment, sexual misconduct, domestic violence, dating violence and stalking) that is perpetrated against an individual on a basis prohibited by Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, 20 U.S.C. §1681 et seq., and its implementing regulations, 34C.F.R. Part 106 (Title IX); California Education Code §66250 et seq., and/or California Government Code §11135.

Sexual Harassment Policy

It is the policy of California State University, Dominguez Hills, that the campus maintain a working and learning environment free from sexual harassment of its students, employees, and those who apply for student or employee status. All should be aware that California State University, Dominguez Hills is concerned and will take action to eliminate sexual harassment.

Sexual harassment includes such behavior as sexual advances, request for sexual favors and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature directed towards an employee, student, or applicant when one or more of the following circumstances are present:

Submission to or toleration of the conduct is an explicit or implicit term or condition of appointment, employment, admission or academic evaluation;

Submission to or rejection of such conduct is used as a basis for a personnel decision or an academic evaluation;

The conduct has the purpose or effect of interfering with an employee's work performance, or creating an intimidating, hostile, offensive or otherwise adverse working environment;

In determining whether conduct actually constitutes sexual harassment, the circumstances surrounding the conduct will be carefully considered. However, where the facts support the allegations, all appropriate measures including disciplinary action will be taken.

This policy is administered by the Assistant Vice President of Human Resources Management. Questions, comments, suggestions or complaints should be directed to that person at (310) 243-3771.

Inquiries Concerning Compliance

Inquiries concerning compliance or the application of these laws to programs and activities of CSUDH may be referred to the specific campus officer(s) identified above or to the Regional Director of the Office for Civil Rights, United States Department of Education, 50 Beale Street, Suite 7200, San Francisco, California 94105.

Whom to Contact If You Have Complaints, Questions or Concerns

Title IX requires the university to designate a Title IX Coordinator to monitor and oversee overall Title IX compliance. Your campus Title IX Coordinator is available to explain and discuss your right to file a criminal complaint (for example, in cases of sexual assault); the university’s complaint process, including the investigation process; how confidentiality is handled; available resources, both on and off campus; and other related matters. If you are in the midst of an emergency, please call the police immediately by dialing 9-1-1.

Campus Title IX Officer
Elizabeth Schrock
1000 E. Victoria St. Welch Hall, B-470H Carson, CA 90747.
(310) 243-3492

University Police
Carols Velez, Chief of Police
1000 E. Victoria St. Welch Hall, Room B-100 Carson, CA 90747.
(310) 243- 3639

U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights (OCR)
(800) 421-3481 or ocr@ed.gov
If you wish to fill out a complaint form online with the OCR, you may do so using the OCR Electronic Complaint Form. 

Title IX requires the university to adopt and publish complaint procedures that provide for prompt and equitable resolution of gender discrimination complaints, including ssexual harassment misconduct, as well as provide training, education and preventative measures related to sex discrimination. CSU Executive Order 1097, revised August 14, 2020 (or any successor policy ) is the systemwide procedure for all complaints of discrimination, harassment or retaliation made by students  against the CSU, a CSU employee, other CSU students or a third party.

Duty to Report. Except as provided below under confidentiality and sexual misconduct, dating violence, domestic violence, and stalking, any university employee who knows or has reason to know of allegations or acts that violate university policy shall promptly inform the Title IX Coordinator. These employees are required to disclose all information including the names of the parties, even where the person has requested that their name remain confidential. The Title IX Coordinator will determine whether confidentiality is appropriate given the circumstances of each such incident. (See confidential reporting options outlined below.)

Regardless of whether an alleged victim of gender discrimination ultimately files a complaint, if the campus knows or has reason to know about possible sexual discrimination, harassment or misconduct, it must review the matter to determine if an investigation is warranted. The campus must then take appropriate steps to eliminate any gender discrimination/harassment/misconduct, prevent its recurrence, and remedy its effects.

Safety of the Campus Community is Primary

The University’s primary concern is the safety of its campus community members. The use of alcohol or drugs never makes the victim at fault for gender discrimination, harassment or misconduct; therefore, victims should not be deterred from reporting incidents of sexual misconduct out of a concern that they might be disciplined for related violations of drug, alcohol or other university policies. Except in extreme circumstances, victims of sexual misconduct shall not be subject to discipline for related violations of the Student Conduct Code.

Information Regarding Campus, Criminal and Civil Consequences of Committing Acts of Sexual Violence

Individuals alleged to have committed sexual misconduct may face criminal prosecution by law enforcement and may incur penalties as a result of civil litigation. In addition, employees and students may face discipline at the university, up to including suspension or expulsion. Employees may face sanctions up to and including dismissal from employment, pursuant to established CSU policies and provisions of applicable collective bargaining unit agreements.

Students who are charged by the University with gender discrimination, harassment or misconduct will be subject to discipline, pursuant to the California State University Student Conduct Procedures (see CSU Executive Order 1098, revised August 14, 2020, or any successor policy) and will be subject to appropriate sanctions. In addition, during any investigation, the University may implement interim measures in order to maintain a safe and non-discriminatory educational environment. Such measures may include but not be limited to: immediate interim suspension from the University; a required move from university-owned or affiliated housing; adjustments to course schedule; and/or prohibition from contact with parties involved in the alleged incident.

Confidentiality and Sexual Misconduct, Dating Violence, Domestic Violence and Stalking

The university encourages victims of sexual misconduct, dating violence, domestic violence or stalking to talk to someone about what happened – so they can get the support they need, and so the university can respond appropriately.

Privileged and Confidential Communications

Physicians, Psychotherapists, Professional Licensed Counselors, Licensed Clinical Social Workers, and Clergy – Physicians, psychotherapists, professional, licensed counselors, licensed clinical social workers, and clergy who work or volunteer on or off campus, acting solely in those roles or capacities as part of their employment, and who provide medical or mental health treatment or counseling (and those who act under their supervision, including all individuals who work or volunteer in their centers and offices) may not report any information about an incident of sexual misconduct to anyone else at the university, including the Title IX Coordinator, without the victim's consent. A victim can seek assistance and support from physicians, psychotherapists, professional, licensed counselors, licensed clinical social workers and clergy without triggering a university investigation that could reveal the victim's identity or the fact of the victim's disclosure. However, see limited exceptions below regarding when health care practitioners must report to local law enforcement agencies. Health care practitioners should explain these limited exceptions to victims, if applicable.

Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence Counselors and Advocates – Sexual assault and domestic violence counselors and advocates who work or volunteer on or off campus in sexual assault centers, victim advocacy offices, women's centers and health centers (including those who act in that role under their supervision, along with non-professional counselors or advocates who work or volunteer in sexual assault centers, victim advocacy offices, women's centers, gender equity centers, or health centers), may talk to a victim without revealing any information about the victim and the incident of sexual misconduct to anyone else at the university, including the Title IX Coordinator, without the victim's consent. A victim can seek assistance and support from these counselors and advocates without triggering a university investigation that could reveal his/her identity or that a victim disclosed an incident to them. However, see limited exceptions below regarding when sexual assault and domestic violence counselors and advocates must report to local law enforcement agencies. Counselors and advocates should explain these limited exceptions to victims, if applicable.

The university will be unable to conduct an investigation into a particular incident or pursue disciplinary action against a perpetrator if a victim chooses to (1) speak only to a physician, professional licensed counselor, licensed clinical social worker, clergy member, sexual assault counselor, domestic violence counselor or advocate; and (2) maintain complete confidentiality. Even so, these individuals will assist victims in receiving other necessary protection and support, such as victim advocacy, disability services, medical/health or mental health services, or legal services, and will advise victims regarding their right to file a Title IX complaint with the university and a separate complaint with local or university police. If a victim insists on confidentiality, such professionals, counselors and advocates will likely not be able to assist the victim with: university academic support or accommodations; changes to university-based living or working schedules; or adjustments to course schedules. A victim who at first requests confidentiality may later decide to file a complaint with the university or report the incident to the police, and thus have the incident fully investigated. These counselors and advocates can provide victims with that assistance if requested by the victim. These counselors and advocates will also explain that Title IX includes protections against retaliation, and that the university will not only take steps to prevent retaliation when it knows or reasonably should know of possible retaliation, but will also take strong responsive action if retaliation occurs.

EXCEPTIONS: Under California law, any health practitioner employed in a health facility, clinic, physician's office, or local or state public health department or clinic is required to make a report to local law enforcement if he or she provides medical services for a physical condition to a patient/victim who he or she knows or reasonably suspects is suffering from (1) a wound or physical injury inflicted by a firearm; or (2) any wound or other physical injury inflicted upon a victim where the injury is the result of assaultive or abusive conduct (including sexual misconduct, domestic violence, and dating violence). This exception does not apply to sexual assault and domestic violence counselors and advocates. Health care practitioners should explain this limited exception to victims, if applicable.

Additionally, under California law, all professionals described above (physicians, psychotherapists, professional counselors, licensed clinical social workers, clergy, and sexual assault and domestic violence counselors and advocates) are mandatory child abuse and neglect reporters, and are required to report incidents involving victims under 18 years of age to local law enforcement. These professionals will explain this limited exception to victims, if applicable.

Finally, some or all of these professionals may also have reporting obligations under California law to: (1) local law enforcement in cases involving threats of immediate or imminent harm to self or others where disclosure of the information is necessary to prevent the threatened danger; or (2) to the court if compelled by court order or subpoena in a criminal proceeding related to the sexual misconduct, dating or domestic violence, or stalking incident. If applicable, these professions will explain this limited exception to victims. 

REPORTING TO UNIVERSITY OR LOCAL POLICE

If a victim reports to local or university police about sexual misconduct crimes, the police are required to notify victims that their names will become a matter of public record unless confidentiality is requested. If a victim requests that their identity be kept confidential, their name will not become a matter of public record and the police will not report the victim's identity to anyone else at the university, including the Title IX Coordinator. University police will, however, report the facts of the incident itself to the Title IX Coordinator being sure not to reveal to the Title IX Coordinator victim names/identities or compromise their own criminal investigation. The university is required by the federal Clery Act to report certain types of crimes (including certain sex offenses) in statistical reports. However, while the university will report the type of incident in the annual crime statistics report known as the Annual Security Report, victim names/identities will not be revealed.

REPORTING TO THE TITLE IX COORDINATOR AND OTHER UNIVERSITY EMPLOYEES

Most university employees have a duty to report incidents of sexual misconduct when they are on notice of it. When a victim tells the Title IX Coordinator or another university employee about an incident of sexual misconduct, the victim has the right to expect the university to take immediate and appropriate steps to investigate what happened and to resolve the matter promptly and equitably. In all cases, the university strongly encourages victims to report incidents of sexual misconduct directly to the campus Title IX Coordinator. As detailed above, in the "Privileged and Confidential Communications" section of this policy, all university employees except physicians, licensed professional counselors, licensed clinical social workers, sexual assault counselors and advocates, must report to the Title IX Coordinator all relevant details about any incidents of sexual misconduct of which they become aware. The university will need to determine what happened – and will need to know the names of the victim(s) and the perpetrator(s), any witnesses, and any other relevant facts, including the date, time and specific location of the incident. 
 
To the extent possible, information reported to the Title IX Coordinator or other university employees will be shared only with individuals responsible for handling the university's response to the incident. The university will protect the privacy of individuals involved in a sexual misconduct violence incident except as otherwise required by law or university policy. A report of sexual misconduct may result in the gathering of extremely sensitive information about individuals in the campus community. While such information is considered confidential, university policy regarding access to public records and disclosure of personal information may require disclosure of certain information concerning a report of sexual misconduct. In such cases, efforts will be made to redact the records, as appropriate, in order to protect the victim's identity and privacy and the privacy of other involved individuals. Except as detailed in the section on "Privileged and Confidential Communications" above, no university employee, including the Title IX Coordinator, should disclose the victim's identity to the police without the victim's consent or unless the victim has also reported the incident to the police.
 
If a victim requests of the Title IX Coordinator or another university employee that their identity remain completely confidential, the Title IX Coordinator will explain that the university cannot always honor that request or guarantee complete confidentiality. If a victim wishes to remain confidential or request that no investigation be conducted or disciplinary action taken, the university must weigh that request against the university's obligation to provide a safe, non-discriminatory environment for all students, employees, and third parties, including the victim. Under those circumstances, the Title IX Coordinator will determine whether the victim's request for complete confidentiality and/or no investigation can be honored under the facts and circumstances of the particular case, including whether the university has a legal obligation to report the incident, conduct an investigation or take other appropriate steps. Without information about a victim's identity, the university's ability to meaningfully investigate the incident and pursue disciplinary action against the perpetrator may be severely limited. See CSU Executive Order 1095 (or any successor policy) for further details around confidential reporting, and other related matters.

Additional Resources

CSUDH’s sexual violence prevention and education statement, which includes facts and myths about sexual violence, at http://www.csudh.edu/dhpd/clery/index.

U.S. Department of Education, regional office:
Office for Civil Rights
50 United Nations Plaza
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 486-5555
TDD (877) 521-2172

U.S. Department of Education, national office:
Office for Civil Rights
(800) 872-5327

California Coalition Against Sexual Assault:
1215 K. Street, Suite 1850 Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 446-2520
California Coalition Against Sexual Assault website

Academic Petition for Exception

Students may petition for exception to certain university academic regulations when unusual circumstances exist. It should be noted, however, that academic regulations contained in Title 5, California Code of Regulations, cannot be waived by petition.

Before filing a petition, students must first speak with the designated representatives in the School or College associated with their request. Only in cases where no alternate means of resolution is available should a student then file a petition. To do so, a fee must be paid. Requests must be stated clearly and accompanied by supporting documentation. Students are notified of decisions by U.S. Mail at the address on file with the university.

Plagiarism

At the heart of any university are its efforts to encourage critical reading skills, effective communication and, above all, intellectual honesty among its students. Thus, all academic work submitted by a student as his or her own should be in his or her own unique style, words and form. When a student submits work that purports to be his/her original work, but actually is not, the student has committed plagiarism.

Plagiarism is considered a gross violation of the University's academic and disciplinary standards. Plagiarism includes the following: copying of one person's work by another and claiming it as his or her own, false presentation of one's self as the author or creator of a work, falsely taking credit for another person's unique method of treatment or expression, falsely representing one's self as the source of ideas or expression, or the presentation of someone else's language, ideas or works without giving that person due credit. It is not limited to written works. For example, one could plagiarize music compositions, photographs, works of art, choreography, computer programs or any other unique creative effort.

Plagiarism is cause for formal university discipline and is justification for an instructor to assign a lower grade or a failing grade in the course in which the plagiarism is committed. In addition, the University may impose its own disciplinary measures.

Prerequisites for Courses

Course prerequisites cited with each course description in this catalog are intended to advise the student of any previous work needed for the course. Some course prerequisites will be automatically enforced electronically as part of the registration process. Students not meeting the stated prerequisites should determine their eligibility for such courses in consultation with their academic advisors and the appropriate instructor.

Privacy Rights of Students in Education Records

The federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (20 U.S.C. 1232g) and regulations adopted thereunder (34 C.F.R. 99) set out requirements designed to protect students’ privacy in their records maintained by the campus. The statute and regulations govern access to certain student records maintained by the campus and the release of such records. The law provides that the campus must give students access to most records directly related to the student, and must also provide opportunity for a hearing to challenge the records if the student claims they are inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise inappropriate. The right to a hearing under this law does not include any right to challenge the appropriateness of a grade determined by the instructor. The law generally requires the institution to receive a student’s written consent before releasing personally identifiable data about the student. The institution has adopted a set of policies and procedures governing implementation of the statute and the regulations. Copies of these policies and procedures may be obtained at the Office of Admissions and Records. Among the types of information included in the campus statement of policies and procedures are:

  1. the types of student records maintained and the information they contain;
  2. the official responsible for maintaining each type of record;
  3. the location of access lists indicating persons requesting or receiving information from the record;
  4. policies for reviewing and expunging records;
  5. student access rights to their records;
  6. the procedures for challenging the content of student records;
  7. the cost to be charged for reproducing copies of records; and
  8. the right of the student to file a complaint with the Department of Education.

The Department of Education has established an office and review board to investigate complaints and adjudicate violations. The designated office is: Family Policy Compliance Office, U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington, D.C. 20202-5920.

The campus is authorized under the Act to release “directory information” concerning students. “Directory information” may include the student’s name, address, telephone listing, electronic mail address, photograph, date and place of birth, major field of study, participation in officially recognized activities and sports, weight and height of members of athletic teams, dates of attendance, grade level, enrollment status, degrees, honors, and awards received, and the most recent previous educational agency or institution attended by the student. The above-designated information is subject to release by the campus at any time unless the campus has received prior written objection from the student specifying what information the student requests not be released. Written objections should be sent to to the Director of Admissions and Records.

The campus is authorized to provide access to student records to campus officials and employees who have legitimate educational interests in such access. These persons have responsibilities in the campus’s academic, administrative or service functions and have reason for accessing student records associated with their campus or other related academic responsibilities. Student records will be disclosed to the Chancellor’s Office of the California State University in order to conduct research, to analyze trends, or to provide other administrative services on behalf of the CSU. Student records may also be disclosed to other persons or organizations under certain conditions (e.g., as part of the accreditation or program evaluation; in response to a court order or subpoena; in connection with financial aid; or to other institutions to which the student is transferring).

Release of Student Information to Agencies of the State of California

Agencies of the State of California may request, for recruitment purposes, information including the names, addresses, major fields of study, and total units completed of CSU students and former students. The university is required by law to release such information to state agencies on request concerning students who have requested in writing that such information be released to state agencies. Students will have the opportunity during the first three weeks of the Fall semester to request in writing the release of such information by completing a form in the Registrar's Office; this release is effective for one academic year and expires on the first day of the following academic year. Students will also have an opportunity to forbid release of any personal identifiable information to state agencies or any other person or organization.

Smoking Policy

California State University, Dominguez Hills (CSUDH) has a responsibility to its students and employees to provide a safe and healthful learning and working environment. The University recognizes the harmful effects of involuntary contact with smoke. It also recognizes the need to preserve the reasonable individual rights of smokers as long as doing so does not interfere with the right of the non-smoker to a smoke-free environment.

Authority and Purpose

This executive order is issued pursuant to Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42356, Government Code 7597.1, and the Standing Orders of the Board of Trustees.

A cornerstone of the California State University and higher education is the principle of one’s individual freedom to learn, teach, work, think, and take part in their intellectual and career endeavors in a fulfilling, rewarding, safe, and healthy environment.

For decades, the health hazards of tobacco and second-hand smoke to individuals have been well studied and chronicled. Further, studies have clearly demonstrated the acute health benefits, medical costs savings, and organizational costs savings when individuals quit smoking.

Thus, in order to provide the California State University’s faculty, staff, students, guests and the public with campuses that support the principle of one’s individual freedom to learn, teach, work, think and take part in their intellectual endeavors in a fulfilling, rewarding, safe and healthy environment, the creation and implementation of a “smoke and tobacco free” policy system-wide is necessary and welcome.

Campus Presidents or their designees shall have the responsibility for implementing the policy on their campuses with an implementation date of September 1, 2017.

Definitions

Members of the CSU Community: This includes all students, faculty, staff, alumni, university volunteers, contractors or vendors and visitors to any California State University campus or properties.

University Properties: These include the interior and exterior campus areas of any California State University campus. This definition includes buildings (including residence halls), structures (including parking structures), parking lots, and outdoor areas owned, leased or rented by the university or one of its auxiliaries. Also included are vehicles owned, leased or rented by the university or one of the university’s auxiliaries. Private vehicles on university-owned, leased, or rented land or in university-owned, leased, or rented parking structures will also be subject to compliance with Executive Order 1108.

Smoke Free: “Smoke Free” means the use of cigarettes, pipes, cigars, and other “smoke” emanating products including e-cigarettes, vapor devices and other like products are prohibited on all University properties.

Smoke or Smoking: “Smoke” or “Smoking” means inhaling, exhaling, burning, or carrying any lighted or heated cigar, cigarette, cigarillo, pipe, hookah, or any other lighted or heated tobacco or plant product intended for inhalation, whether natural or synthetic, in any manner or in any form. “Smoke” or “Smoking” also includes the use of an electronic smoking device that creates an aerosol or vapor, in any manner or in any form, or the use of any oral smoking device for the purpose of circumventing the prohibition of smoking.

Tobacco Product: A product containing, made or derived from tobacco or nicotine that is intended for human consumption, whether smoked, heated, chewed, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled, snorted, sniffed, or ingested by any other means, including, but not limited to cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, and snuff.

An electronic device that delivers nicotine or other vaporized liquids to the person inhaling from the device, including, but not limited to, an electronic cigarette, cigar, pipe, or hookah. (iii) Any component, part, accessory of a tobacco product, whether or not sold separately. (iv) “Tobacco product” does not include a product that has been approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for sale as a tobacco cessation product or for other therapeutic purposes where the product is market and sold solely for such an approved purpose.

Tobacco Free: “Tobacco Free” means the use of cigarettes, pipes, cigars, smokeless tobacco, snuffs, and other tobacco products are prohibited on all University properties.

Policy Text

Campus Presidents or their designees shall have the responsibility of implementing this Executive Order on their campuses with an anticipated implementation date no later than September 1, 2017.

Scope of this Executive Order

Effective September 1, 2017, all California State University campuses shall be 100% Smoke Free and Tobacco Free. Smoking, the use or sale of tobacco products, and the use of designated smoking areas are prohibited on all California State University properties. Members of the CSU community are expected to fully comply with the policy.

Any sponsorship and/or advertising in respect to any university activity or event by a tobacco product manufacturer is prohibited unless explicitly authorized by the University President or designee.

Exceptions

Smoking in university-sponsored theater and dance productions, student-authored or sponsored scenes, showcases or workshops produced as part of the department of theatre as well as ceremonial campus events may be authorized by the President or designee only when a required part of a specific performance. This includes smoking and/or tobacco use for traditional ceremonial activities of recognized cultural and/or religious groups.

The use of nicotine cessation products regulated by the United States Food and Drug Administration for treating nicotine or tobacco dependencies is permitted under the terms of this executive order.

(iii) Institutional Review Board approved research on tobacco or tobacco-related products.

Compliance, Responsibilities and Enforcement

Compliance is grounded in an informed and educated campus community. The success of this policy depends on the thoughtfulness, civility and cooperation of all members of the campus community, including visitors.

Members of the CSU community are individually responsible to comply with the creation of a system-wide smoke and tobacco free environment. While compliance with this executive order is an individual responsibility, members of the CSU community should be aware that enforcement of this policy may occur in the following instances:

  • University Police shall reserve all enforcement authority with regards to any violation of existing state and federal law.
  • Individual agreements that prohibit smoking and proscribe penalties for breaches that are not impacted by this executive order (e.g. University Housing license agreements, other residential licenses, or existing leases).
  • Educational campaigns, outreach, communication and the promotion of tobacco cessation treatment options will be the primary means to promote compliance. A comprehensive education and outreach campaign, including resources and referrals for cessation will be made available as part of campus implementation programs.
  • The progress this policy represents in promoting the ability of students, faculty, staff and visitors to have a healthier and pleasant campus experience aligns well with the CSU’s mission. Individual campus support and diligence in moving forward with the implementation and amendment of current policies is sincerely appreciated.
  • Hostile and/or violent interpersonal conduct directed against members of the CSU community requesting that an individual(s) comply regarding compliance with the terms of this executive order will not be tolerated, and will be enforced under system-wide or campus policies, including but not limited to workplace violence policies.

Implementation

The Vice Chancellor for Human Resources has overall responsibility for implementing this policy. This policy shall supersede all existing campus policies related to smoking and tobacco. Campus task forces will be responsible for developing an implementation plan, and ensuring all activities associated with implementation are carried out. Campus task forces shall include a student representative. A member of each campus task force will serve on the system-wide Smoke and Tobacco Free Policy Task Force to ensure all campuses are adequately moving forward with implementation of this policy. Exclusive Representatives may nominate an individual to serve on the Systemwide Task Force. To provide adequate time to create awareness, outreach, and educational programs, including smoking cessation and counseling programs, this policy is effective September 1, 2017.

Student Rights and Responsibilities

Student Responsibility

Each student is responsible for compliance with the regulations printed in the current catalog, in the current schedule of classes and with official notices posted on official bulletin boards.

Student Discipline

The University seeks to create the optimum climate for academic excellence for both students and faculty. Within this climate, students must have the opportunity to develop an understanding of their roles as citizens in a democracy. In order to achieve these goals, the University strives to minimize its regulatory controls over individual student conduct and to maximize the opportunity for student self-control and self-discipline. Students who attend the University are expected to conduct themselves in a manner compatible with the laws of federal, state and local governments, as well as with the stated purposes of the University.

Inappropriate conduct by students or by applicants for admission is subject to discipline as provided in Sections 41301 through 41304 of Title 5, California Code of Regulations.

Student Conduct

Title 5, California Code of Regulations, § 41301. Standards for Student Conduct.

Campus Community Values

The University is committed to maintaining a safe and healthy living and learning environment for students, faculty, and staff. Each member of the campus community should choose behaviors that contribute toward this end. Students are expected to be good citizens and to engage in responsible behaviors that reflect well upon their university, to be civil to one another and to others in the campus community, and contribute positively to student and university life.

Grounds for Student Discipline

Student behavior that is not consistent with the Student Conduct Code is addressed through an educational process that is designed to promote safety and good citizenship and, when necessary, impose appropriate consequences. The following are the grounds upon which student discipline can be based:

  1. Dishonesty, including:
    1. Cheating, plagiarism, or other forms of academic dishonesty that are intended to gain unfair academic advantage.
    2. Furnishing false information to a University official, faculty member, or campus office.
    3. Forgery, alteration, or misuse of a University document, key, or identification instrument.
    4. Misrepresenting one’s self to be an authorized agent of the University or one of its auxiliaries.
  2. Unauthorized entry into, presence in, use of, or misuse of University property.
  3. Willful, material and substantial disruption or obstruction of a University-related activity, or any on-campus activity.
  4. Participating in an activity that substantially and materially disrupts the normal operations of the University, or infringes on the rights of members of the University community.
  5. Willful, material and substantial obstruction of the free flow of pedestrian or other traffic, on or leading to campus property or an off-campus University related activity.
  6. Disorderly, lewd, indecent, or obscene behavior at a University related activity, or directed toward a member of the University community.
  7. Conduct that threatens or endangers the health or safety of any person within or related to the University community, including physical abuse, threats, intimidation, harassment, or sexual misconduct.
  8. Hazing or conspiracy to haze. Hazing is defined as any method of initiation or pre-initiation into a student organization or student body, whether or not the organization or body is officially recognized by an educational institution, which is likely to cause serious bodily injury to any former, current, or prospective student of any school, community college, college, university or other educational institution in this state (Penal Code 245.6), and in addition, any act likely to cause physical harm, personal degradation or disgrace resulting in physical or mental harm, to any former, current, or prospective student of any school, community college, college, university or other educational institution. The term “hazing” does not include customary athletic events or school sanctioned events. Neither the express or implied consent of a victim of hazing, nor the lack of active participation in a particular hazing incident is a defense. Apathy or acquiescence in the presence of hazing is not a neutral act, and is also a violation of this section.
  9. Use, possession, manufacture, or distribution of illegal drugs or drug- related paraphernalia, (except as expressly permitted by law and University regulations) or the misuse of legal pharmaceutical drugs.
  10. Use, possession, manufacture, or distribution of alcoholic beverages (except as expressly permitted by law and University regulations), or public intoxication while on campus or at a University related activity.
  11. Theft of property or services from the University community, or misappropriation of University resources.
  12. Unauthorized destruction or damage to University property or other property in the University community.
  13. Possession or misuse of firearms or guns, replicas, ammunition, explosives, fireworks, knives, other weapons, or dangerous chemicals (without the prior authorization of the campus president) on campus or at a University related activity.
  14. Unauthorized recording, dissemination, or publication of academic presentations (including handwritten notes) for a commercial purpose.
  15. Misuse of computer facilities or resources, including:
    1. Unauthorized entry into a file, for any purpose.
    2. Unauthorized transfer of a file.
    3. Use of another’s identification or password.
    4. Use of computing facilities, campus network, or other resources to interfere with the work of another member of the University community.
    5. Use of computing facilities and resources to send obscene or intimidating and abusive messages.
    6. Use of computing facilities and resources to interfere with normal University operations.
    7. Use of computing facilities and resources in violation of copyright laws.
    8. Violation of a campus computer use policy.
  16. Violation of any published University policy, rule, regulation or presidential order.
  17. Failure to comply with directions or interference with, any University official or any public safety officer while acting in the performance of his/her duties.
  18. Any act chargeable as a violation of a federal, state, or local law that poses a substantial threat to the safety or well-being of members of the University community, to property within the University community or poses a significant threat of disruption or interference with University operations.
  19. Violation of the Student Conduct Procedures, including:
    1. Falsification, distortion, or misrepresentation of information related to a student discipline matter.
    2. Disruption or interference with the orderly progress of a student discipline proceeding.
    3. Initiation of a student discipline proceeding in bad faith.
    4. Attempting to discourage another from participating in the student discipline matter.
    5. Attempting to influence the impartiality of any participant in a student discipline matter.
    6. Verbal or physical harassment or intimidation of any participant in a student discipline matter.
    7. Failure to comply with the sanction(s) imposed under a student discipline proceeding.
  20. Encouraging, permitting, or assisting another to do any act that could subject him or her to discipline.

Procedures for Enforcing This Code

The Chancellor shall adopt procedures to ensure students are afforded appropriate notice and an opportunity to be heard before the University imposes any sanction for a violation of the Student Conduct Code. [Note: At the time of publication, such procedures are set forth in California State University Executive Order 1098 (Revised June 23, 2015), available at calstate.edu/eo/EO-1098-rev-6-23-15.html.

Application of This Code

Sanctions for the conduct listed above can be imposed on applicants, enrolled students, students between academic terms, graduates awaiting degrees, and students who withdraw from school while a disciplinary matter is pending. Conduct that threatens the safety or security of the campus community, or substantially disrupts the functions or operation of the University is within the jurisdiction of this Article regardless of whether it occurs on or off campus. Nothing in this Code may conflict with Education Code Section 66301 that prohibits disciplinary action against students based on behavior protected by the First Amendment.

Title 5, California Code of Regulations, § 41302.  Disposition of Fees: Campus Emergency; Interim Suspension

The President of the campus may place on probation, suspend, or expel a student for one or more of the causes enumerated in Section 41301. No fees or tuition paid by or for such student for the semester, quarter, or summer session in which he or she is suspended or expelled shall be refunded. If the student is readmitted before the close of the semester, quarter, or summer session in which he or she is suspended, no additional tuition or fees shall be required of the student on account of the suspension.

During periods of campus emergency, as determined by the President of the individual campus, the President may, after consultation with the Chancellor, place into immediate effect any emergency regulations, procedures, and other measures deemed necessary or appropriate to meet the emergency, safeguard persons and property, and maintain educational activities.

The President may immediately impose an interim suspension in all cases in which there is reasonable cause to believe that such an immediate suspension is required in order to protect lives or property and to insure the maintenance of order. A student so placed on interim suspension shall be given prompt notice of charges and the opportunity for a hearing within 10 days of the imposition of interim suspension. During the period of interim suspension, the student shall not, without prior written permission of the President or designated representative, enter any campus of the California State University other than to attend the hearing. Violation of any condition of interim suspension shall be grounds for expulsion.

Civil and Criminal Penalties for Violation of Federal Copyrights Law

Anyone who is found to be liable for copyright infringement may be liable for either the owner's actual damages along with any profits of the infringer or statutory damages of up to $30,000 per work infringed. In the case of a willful infringement, a court may award up to $150,000 per work infringed. (See 17 U.S.C. §504.) Courts also have discretion to award costs and attorneys’ fees to the prevailing party. (See 17 U.S.C. §505.) Under certail circumstances, willful copyright infringement may also result in criminal penalties, including imprisonment and fines. (See 17 U.S.C. §506 and 18 U.S.C. §2319.)

Student Right-to-Know Law

Under the federal Student Right-to-Know legislation, institutions of higher education are required to disclose information regarding graduation rates for first time, full-time, regularly enrolled freshman. Prospective and currently enrolled students may review this information on the CSU Dominguez Hills Division of Student Affairs webpage accessible at www.csudh.edu/stuaffs/coninfo.htm. Questions regarding this information are referred to the Media Relations Office at the University.

The federal government requires that institutions of higher learning inform prospective and continuing students regarding information pertaining to campus crime statistics, graduation and transfer rates, Family Education Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA), and athletic participation rates/financial support (Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act). In addition to CSUDH's Drug and Alcohol Policy, this information is available at the following web site: www.csudh.edu/stuaffs/coninfo.htm.
Information concerning grievance procedures for students who feel aggrieved in their relationships with the university, its policies, practices and procedures, or its faculty and staff may be obtained from The Office of Human Resources Management. 1000 E. Victoria St. Carson, CA 90747. (310) 243-3771.

Student Complaint Procedure (Complaints Regarding the CSU)

The California State University takes very seriously complaints and concerns regarding the institution. If you have a complaint regarding the CSU, you may present your complaint as follows:

  1. If your complaint concerns CSU’s compliance with academic program quality and accrediting standards, you may present your complaint on the Western Association of School and Colleges (WASC) website. WASC is the agency that accredits the CSU's academic program. If you believe that your complaint warrants further attention after you have exhausted all the steps outlined by WASC, you may file an appeal with the Assistant Vice Chancellor, Academic and Student Affairs at the CSU Chancellor's Office.
  2. If your complaint concerns an alleged violation by CSU of any law that prohibits discrimination, harassment or retaliation based on a protected status (such as age, disability, gender (or sex), gender identity, gender expression, nationality, race or ethnicity (including color or ancestry), religion or veteran or military status), you may present your complaint as described in Section XVI (Nondiscrimination Policy).
  3. If your complaint concerns an alleged violation by the CSU of other state law, including laws prohibiting fraud and false advertising, you may present your complaint to the campus president or designee, the Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs at academicaffairs@csudh.edu. See Procedure for Student Complaints—Executive Order No. 1063 for details regarding the complaint requirements and complaint process.
  4. Other complaints regarding the CSU may be presented to the campus dean of students, who will provide guidance on the appropriate campus process for addressing your particular issue.

This procedure should not be construed to limit any right that you may have to take legal action to resolve your complaint.

Veterans' Responsibilities

Students receiving veteran's benefits have several important responsibilities regarding their certification status for receipt of those benefits. These responsibilities are:

Prompt Notification of Withdrawal

It is the responsibility of each veteran student receiving benefits to notify the Registrar's Office immediately upon withdrawal from the University. This is done through use of the Notice of Withdrawal form. The form, including last date of attendance, should be completed and submitted promptly upon cessation of attendance.

Prompt Notification of Change in Units

When a course is added or dropped, the veteran student must complete and submit the Change of Program form immediately, including last date of attendance for dropped courses, so that any necessary adjustment in certification may be prepared and submitted by the Office of Veterans' Affairs.

Enrollment in Proper Courses for Graduate Level Students

Graduate level veteran students are reminded that full-time certification for eight units is based upon enrollment in eight units of graduate level (500) courses or undergraduate level courses which are part of the graduate program. Enrollment in eight units of courses other than courses in the graduate program does not constitute full-time enrollment status. The status of graduate level students enrolled in undergraduate courses not in the graduate program will be certified as less than full time.