Schedule of Tuition and Fees - 2020/21
The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Tuition and fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU reserves the right, even after initial payments are made, to increase or modify any listed tuition or fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory systemwide tuition, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU-listed tuition and fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the chancellor or the presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory systemwide tuition will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028 – 66028.6 of the Education Code).
The following reflects applicable systemwide tuition and fees for both semester and quarter campuses. These rates are subject to change.
These rates are subject to change.
Information concerning the cost of attending CSU Dominguez Hills is available from the Information Center, WH D-245, (310) 243-3696, and includes fees and tuition (where applicable); the estimated costs of books and supplies; estimates of typical student room and board costs and transportation costs; and, if requested, additional costs for specific programs.
Application for Admission to the University
|$70||All Students: Application Fee (nonrefundable), payable online at the time of application via credit card, e-check or PayPal.|
|$15||Late Application fee|
2020/21 Basic Tuition Fees
2020/21 Basic Tuition
|Units||Per Semester||Per Quarter|
|6.1 or more||$2,871||$1,914|
|0 to 6.0||$1,665||$1,110|
|Credential Program Tuition|
|6.1 or more||$3,330||$2,220|
|0 to 6.0||$1,932||$1,288|
|Graduate/Post Baccalaureate Tuition|
|6.1 or more||$3,588||$2,392|
|0 to 6.0||$2,082||$1,388|
*Note: All fees subject to change based on further action by the Trustees of the California State University and the California Legislature or the CSU Dominguez Hills President.
**Note: Applicable term fees apply for campuses with special terms, as determined by the campus. Total College Year fees cannot exceed the Academic Year plus Summer Term fees. The Summer Term fee for the Education Doctor at quarter campuses is equal to the Per Semester fee listed in the table. Total fees for the Education Doctor over the College Year equals the Per Academic Year fee plus the Per Semester fee for the summer term at all CSU campuses.
For summer session fees, please consult summer session Class Schedule.
2020/21 Graduate Business Professional Fee
Graduate Business Professional Fee
|$270||Charge Per Unit- Semester|
|$180||Charge Per Unit- Quarter|
Graduate Business Professional Fee shall be assessed to students for coursework required in state-supported professional master's of business degree programs that are subject to accreditation by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business International (AACSB International).
The Graduate Business Professional Fee is paid on a per unit basis in addition to basic tuition fees and campus fees for the following graduate business programs:
- Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Accountancy
- Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business Administration
- Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Health Care Management
- Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Business and Technology
- Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Information Systems
- Master of Science (M.S.) programs in Taxation
Nonresident Students ( U.S. and Foreign)
Nonresident Tuition Fee (in addition to basic tuition fees and other systemwide fees charged all students) for all campuses:
Nonresident Tuition Fee
|$396||Charge Per Unit- Semester|
|$264||Charge Per Unit- Quarter|
The total nonresident tuition fee paid per term will be determined by the number of units taken.
Mandatory systemwide fees are waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the California Education Code (see section on fee waivers).
Students are charged campus fees in addition to tuition fees and other systemwide fees. Information on campus fees can be found by contacting the campus(es).
Fee Waivers and Exemptions
California Education Code provides for the waiver of mandatory system wide tuition fees as summarized below:
Section 66025.3 –
Dependent eligible to receive assistance under Article 2 of Chapter 4 of Division 4 of the Military and Veterans Code; child of any veteran of the United States military who has a service-connected disability, has been killed in service, or has died of a service-connected disability, and meets specified income provisions; dependent, or surviving spouse who has not remarried of any member of the California National Guard who, in the line of duty, and while in the active service of the state, was killed, died of a disability resulting from an event that occurred while in the active service of the state, or is permanently disabled as a result of an event that occurred while in the active service of the state; and any undergraduate student who is a recipient of a Medal of Honor, or undergraduate student who is a child of a recipient of a Medal of Honor who is no more than 27 years old, who meets the income restriction and California residency requirement.
Current or former foster youth who are 25 years of age or younger; have been in foster care for at least 12 consecutive months after reaching 10 years of age; meet one of the following: is under a current foster care placement order by the juvenile court, was under a foster care placement order by the juvenile court upon reaching 18 years of age, or was adopted, or entered guardianship, from foster care; completes and submits the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA); maintains a minimum grade point average and meets the conditions necessary to be in good standing at the campus; and meets the financial need requirements established for Cal Grant A awards. The waiver of mandatory systemwide tuition and fees under this section applies only to a person who is determined to be a resident of California pursuant to Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 68000) of Part 41 of the California Education Code.
Section 66602 –
A qualifying student from the California State University who is appointed by the Governor to serve as Trustee of the California State University for the duration of his or her term of office.
Section 68120 –
Surviving spouse or child of a deceased resident who was employed by a public agency, or was a contractor or an employee of a contractor, performing services for a public agency, and was killed or died as a result of an industrial injury or illness arising out of and in the course of the performance of his/her principal duties of active law enforcement or active fire suppression and prevention duties (referred to as Alan Pattee Scholarships).
Additionally, a person who qualifies for the waiver under this section as a surviving child of a contractor or of an employee of a contractor, who performed services for a public agency, must have enrolled as an undergraduate student at the California State University and meet the applicable income restriction requirement with supporting documentation (i.e. his/her income, including the value of parent support, does not exceed the maximum household income and asset level for an applicant for a Cal Grant B award).
Section 68121 –
A qualifying student enrolled in an undergraduate program who is the surviving dependent of any individual killed in the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in New York City, the Pentagon building in Washington, D.C., or the crash of United Airlines Flight 93 in southwestern Pennsylvania, if the student meets the financial need requirements set forth in Government Code Section 69432.7 for the Cal Grant A Program and either the surviving dependent or the individual killed in the attacks was a resident of California on September 11, 2001
Section 69000 –
A person who has been exonerated, as the term is defined in Section 3007.05(e) of the Penal Code; completes and submits the FAFSA; and meets the financial need requirements established for Cal Grant A awards. The waiver of mandatory systemwide tuition and fees under this section applies only to a person who is determined to be a resident of California pursuant to Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 68000) of Part 41 of the California Education Code.
Students who may qualify for the above benefits should contact the Office of Admissions for further information and/or an eligibility determination.
The California Education Code provides for the following nonresident tuition exemptions as summarized below:
Section 68075 –
A student who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States stationed in this state, except a member of the Armed Forces assigned for educational purposes to a state-supported institution of higher education, is entitled to resident classification only for the purpose of determining the amount of tuition and fees.
If that member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is in attendance at an institution is thereafter transferred on military orders to a place outside this state where the member continues to serve in the Armed Forces of the United States, he or she shall not lose his or her resident classification so long as he or she remains continuously enrolled at that institution.
Section 68075.7 –
A nonresident student is exempt from paying nonresident tuition or any other fee that is exclusively applicable to nonresident students if the student (1) resides in California, (2) meets the definition of "covered individual" as defined in either: (A) Section 3679(c)(2)(A) or (B)(ii)(l) of Title 38 of the United States Code, as that provision read on January 1, 2017 or (B) Section 3679(c)(2)(B)(i) or (ii)(II) of Title 38 of the United States Code, as that provision read on January 1, 2017, and (3) is eligible for education benefits under either the federal Montgomery GI Bill®-Active Duty program (30 U.S.C. § 3001 et seq.) or the Post-9/11 GI Bill® program (38 U.S.C. § 3301 et seq.) as each read on January 1, 2017. (GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). More information about education benefits offered by VA is available at the official U.S. government Web site at http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill.)
Section 68122 –
A student who is a victim of trafficking, domestic violence, and other serious crimes who has been granted T or U visa status (respectively under Section 1101(a)(15)(T)(i) or (ii), or Section 1101(a)(15)(U)(i) or (ii), of Title 8 of the United States Code) shall be exempt from paying nonresident tuition to the same extent as individuals who are admitted to the United States as refugees under Section 1157 of Title 8 of the United States Code.
Section 68130.5 –
A student, other than a nonimmigrant alien (8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)), who is not a resident of California is exempt from paying nonresident tuition if the student meets the requirements of (1) through (4), below:
- Satisfaction of the requirements of either subparagraph (A) or subparagraph (B):
- A total attendance of, or attainment of credits earned while in California equivalent to, three or more years of full-time attendance or attainment of credits at any of the following:
- California high schools.
- California high schools established by the State Board of Education.
- California adult schools established by a county office of education, a unified school district or high school district, or the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (subject to the class hours’ requirement).
- Campuses of the California Community Colleges (subject to the credit requirements).
- A combination of those schools set forth in clauses (i) to (iv), inclusive.
- Three or more years of full-time high school coursework, and a total of three or more years of attendance in California elementary schools, California secondary schools, or a combination of California elementary and secondary schools.
- A total attendance of, or attainment of credits earned while in California equivalent to, three or more years of full-time attendance or attainment of credits at any of the following:
- Satisfaction of any of the following:
- Graduation from a California high school or attainment of the equivalent thereof.
- Attainment of an associate degree from a campus of the California Community Colleges.
- Fulfillment of the minimum transfer requirements established for the California State University for students transferring from a campus of the California Community Colleges.
- Registration as an entering student at, or current enrollment at, an accredited institution of higher education in California not earlier than the fall semester or quarter of the 2001–02 academic year.
- In the case of a person without lawful immigration status, the filing of an affidavit with the institution of higher education stating that the student has filed an application to legalize his or her immigration status, or will file an application as soon as he or she is eligible to do so.
Older Adult Fee Waiver
Students sixty years of age and older may be eligible for an Older Adult Fee Waiver. Here's how to apply:
- Obtain a fee waiver form from the Office of Admissions. Applicant must present documentation which establishes their identity and their age, i.e., California Drivers License, California Identification Card, etc.
- Students using the Older Adult Fee Waiver may register at/or after the first day of the term.
- The Office Admissions will send the Older Adult Fee Waiver form to Student Financial Services in order for the fee waiver to be posted to the student account.
- The number of Older Adult Fee Waivers is limited.Older Adult students not participating in the Older Adult fee waiver program will be required to pay fees by the posted due date.
Fees may be paid online by electronic check or credit cards through MyCSUDH. There is a non-refundable 2.75% service fee charged by our third party processor TouchNet® PayPathTM for paying with a credit card. Debit cards are treated the same as credit cards and will incur the service fee. There is no fee charged for paying with electronic check. Fees may also be paid at Cashier's Office. The Cashier's Office accepts cash, checks and money orders.
Application for refund of parking fees may be obtained at the Cashier's Office. The Parking Decal must accompany the request for refund. Lost, stolen, or destroyed permits will not be replaced for students, faculty, or staff. A new permit must be purchased at the current cost.
|$155||Four wheeled motorized vehicles (per semester)|
|$39||Two-wheeled motorized vehicles - includes mopeds (per semester)|
|$95||Summer permit (entire summer)|
|$52||Summer permit (per session)|
|$16||Summer permit - Two-wheeled motorized vehicles - includes mopeds|
subject to change
|vaires||Course Material Fees (charged for certain courses in art, biology, chemistry, history, English, music, orthotics and prosthetics, and physical education. These courses are footnoted in the Class Schedule in their respective academic course listing)|
|$10||Graduation Date Change Fee|
|$35||Graduation Writing Examination|
|$5||Identification Card – new and returning students (non-refundable)|
|Special Test Fees – a list of test fees is available in the Testing Office|
|$4||Certification of Enrollment and/or Degrees|
|$50||Credential Evaluation Fee|
|min $4||Duplicate Document or Printout|
|$10||Emergency Graduation Clearance Processing|
|$10||Emergency Transcript Processing (less than 10 working days)|
|$50||International Student Matriculation and Orientation|
|$33||Resident Installent Payment Service Charge (non-refundable)|
|7%||Non-resident Installment Plan Service Charge (non-refundable)|
|$10||Petition for Exception to University Policy|
|$10||Refund Processing Fee and Service Charge|
Transcript (within 10 working days)
|$2||Additional transcripts prepared at the same time up to ten (10) transcripts|
|$1||Additional transcripts prepared at the same time that exceed the first ten (10) transcripts|
Penalty or Deposit Fees
|$25||Checks returned for any cause - Per AB1643, ch. 1000, there is a $25 charge on returned checks. Note: Students whose checks are returned by their bank are subject to disenrollment. Dishonored checks that are not paid may be sent to the L.A. District Attorney for prosecution.|
|$20||Late Payment Fee (per late payment)|
|varies||Library fines - a list of overdue fines is posted at the entrance to the library on the 2nd floor of the ERC Building|
|varies||Lost books and other Library items - replacement cost + posted service charge|
|$25||Late Registration (assessed the day instruction begins) (non-refundable)|
|$10||Petition for Missed Deadlines|
Installment Payment of Nonresident Tuition Fees
A nonresident student who is a citizen and resident of a foreign country or of another state within the United States may pay the required nonresident tuition fee on an installment basis. (Installment plans available for Fall and Spring terms only.) This payment is limited to three equal installments.
The first installment shall be due 30 days from the first date of classes as stated in the Class Schedule.
The second installment shall be due 30 days following the first installment.
The third installment shall be due 30 days after the second installment. A 7% service charge will be added to each installment payment to cover the cost of handling. Any student failing to make timely installment payments may be prevented from paying fees on an installment basis in subsequent semesters.
Nonresident students as defined above shall pay all registration fees required of resident students by the same date as required for resident students.
Tuition Fee Installment Plan
A Fee Installment Plan is available for fall and spring terms. See the Schedule of Classes for information.
Refund of Tuition and Mandatory Fees, Including Nonresident Tuition Fee
Regulations governing the refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including non-resident tuition, for students enrolling at the California State University are included in Section 41802 of Title 5, California Code of Regulations. For purposes of the refund policy, mandatory fees are defined as those systemwide and campus fees that are required to be paid in order to enroll in state-supported academic programs at the CSU. Refunds of fees and tuition charges for self-support, special session, and extended education programs or courses at the CSU are governed by a separate policy established by the University, available at http://www.csudh.edu/ceie/registration/policies/index.
In order to receive a full refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, less an administrative charge established by the campus, including non-resident tuition, a student must cancel registration or drop all courses prior to the first day of instruction for the term. Information on procedures and deadlines for canceling registration and dropping classes is available in the Schedule of Classes.
For state-supported semesters, quarters, and non-standard terms or courses of four (4) weeks or more, a student who withdraws during the term in accordance with the University’s established procedures or drops all courses prior to the campus-designated drop period will receive a refund of mandatory fees, including non-resident tuition, based on the portion of the term during which the student was enrolled. No student withdrawing after the 60 percent point in the term will be entitled to a refund of any mandatory fees or non-resident tuition.
A student who, within the campus designated drop period and in accordance with campus procedures, drops units resulting in a lower tuition and/or mandatory fee obligation shall be entitled to a refund of applicable tuition and mandatory fees less an administrative charge established by the campus.
For state-supported semesters, quarters and non-standard terms or courses of four weeks or more, a student who withdraws during the term in accordance with the university’s established procedures or drops all courses prior to the campus-designated drop period will receive a refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, based on the portion of the term during which the student was enrolled. No student withdrawing after the 60 percent point in the term will be entitled to a refund of any mandatory fees or nonresident tuition.
- The fees were assessed or collected in error;
- The University canceled the course for which the fees were assessed or collected;
- The University makes a delayed decision that the student was not eligible to enroll in the term for which mandatory tuition and fees were assessed and collected and the delayed decision was not due to incomplete or inaccurate information provided by the student; or
- The student was activated for compulsory military service. Students who are not entitled to a refund as described above may petition the university for a refund demonstrating exceptional circumstances and the chief financial officer of the University or designee may authorize a refund if he or she determines that the fees and tuition were not earned by the University.
- Refunds will be processed approximately three weeks after Add/Drop period (end of the third week).
- All refunds are made in accordance with Title V of the California Administrative Code (See Schedule of Classes for Prorata table).
- Not all fees are refundable.
- $10 is retained by the University to cover processing and the non-refundable portion of the Tuition Fee.
- Refunds are issued via direct deposit to your designated bank account, by mail in the form of a check, or credited back to the same credit card used via TouchNet® PayPathTM.
- Students whose unit load drops from 6.1 or more units to 6.0 or fewer units may be eligible for a refund of the difference in the Tuition Fee during the campus designated drops period. See Schedule of Classes for information.Information concerning the refund policies of CSU Dominguez Hills for the return of unearned tuition and fees or other refundable portions of institutional charges is available from Student Financial Services at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at (310) 243-3780. See web page at http://www.csudh.edu/accounting-services/student-financial-services/student-financial-accounting/index for additional information. In addition, any debt owed to the University by an individual student will be subtracted from the refund due.
Fees and Debts Owed to the Institution
Should a student or former student fail to pay a fee or a debt owed to the institution, including tuition and student charges, the institution may "withhold permission to register, to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged, to receive services, materials, food or merchandise or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt" until the debt is paid (see Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42380 and 42381).
Prospective students who register for courses offered by the university are obligated for the payment of charges and fees associated with registration for those courses. Failure to cancel registration in any course for an academic term prior to the first day of the academic term gives rise to an obligation to pay student charges and fees including any tuition for the reservation of space in the course.
The institution may withhold permission to register o other services offered by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution. The institution may also report the debt to a credit bureau, offset the amount due against any future state tax refunds due the student, refer the debt to an outside collection agency and/or charge the student actual and reasonable collection costs, including reasonable attorney fees if litigation is necessary, in collecting any amount not paid when due.
The institution may not withhold an official transcript of grades by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution (see Title 1.6C7 (commencing with section 1\788.90) Part 4 of Division 3 of the Civil Code). The institution can still charge a fee for the issuance of the transcript pursuant to their published transcript processing fee.
If a person believes he or she does not owe all or part of an asserted unpaid obligation, that person may contact Student Financial Services at email@example.com or by phone at (310) 243-3780. Student Financial Services, or another office on campus to which Student Financial Services may refer the person, will review all pertinent information provided by the person and available to the campus and will advise the person of its conclusions.
Cancellation of Registration or Withdrawal from the Institution
Students who find it necessary to cancel their registration or to withdraw from all classes after enrolling for any academic term are required to follow the University’s official withdrawal procedures. Failure to follow formal University procedures may result in an obligation to pay fees as well as the assignment of failing grades in all courses and the need to apply for readmission before being permitted to enroll in another academic term. Information on canceling registration and withdrawal procedures is available from the University Registrar's Office 1000 E. Victoria St. Carson, CA 90747. (310) 243-3648.
Students who receive financial aid funds must consult with the Financial Aid office prior to withdrawing from the university regarding any required return or repayment of grant or loan assistance received for that academic term or payment period. Students who have received financial aid and withdraw from the institution during the academic term or payment period may need to return or repay some or all of the funds received, which may result in a debt owed to the institution.
Average Support Cost per Full-Time Equivalent Student and Sources of Funds
The total support cost per full-time equivalent student (FTES) includes the expenditures for current operations, including payments made to students in the form of financial aid, and all fully reimbursed programs contained in state appropriations. The average support cost is determined by dividing the total cost by the number of FTES. The total CSU 2020/21 budget amounts were $3,722,806,000 from state General Fund (GF) appropriations before a $42.7 million CalPERS retirement adjustment, $626,783 from gross tuition revenue, and $612,221 from other fee revenues for a total of $6,961, 810. The 2020/21 resident FTES target is 374,131 and the nonresident FTES based on past-year actual is 22,154 for 396,285 FTES. The GF appropriation is applicable to resident students only whereas fee revenues are collected from resident and nonresident students. FTES is determined by dividing the total academic student load (e.g. 15 units per semester) (the figure used here to define a full-time student’s academic load).
|Fee||Amount||Average Cost per FTES||Percentage|
|State Appropriation (GF)1||$3,722,806,000||$9,952||55.0%|
|Gross Tuition Revenue2||$2,626,783,000||$6,629||36.5%|
|Other Fees Revenue2||$612,221,000||$1,545||8.5%|
|Total Support Cost||$6,961,810,000||$18,125||100%|
Represents state GF appropriation in the Budget Act of 2020/21; is divisible by resident students only (374,131 FTES).
Represents CSU Operating Fund, gross tutition and other fees revenue amounts submitted in campus August 2020/21 final budgets. Revenues are divisible by resident and nonresident students (396,285 FTES).
The 2020/21 average support cost per FTES based on GF appropriation and net tuition fee revenue only is $16,235 and when including all three sources as indicated below is $17,780, which includes all fee revenue(e.g., tuition fees, application fees, and other campus mandatory fees) in the CSU Operating Fund of this amount, the average net tuition and other fee revenue per FTES is $7,829.
The average CSU 2020/21 academic year, resident, undergraduate student basic tuition and other mandatory fee required to apply to, enroll in, or attend the university is $7,363 ($5,742 tuition fee plus plus $1,621 average campus-based fees). However, the costs paid by individual students will vary depending on campus, program, and whether a student is part-time, full-time, resident, or nonresident.
Procedure for the Establishment or Abolishment of Campus-Based Mandatory Fees
The law governing the California State University provides that specific campus fees defined as mandatory, such as a student association fee and a student center fee, may be established. A student association fee must be established upon a favorable vote of two-thirds of the students voting in an election held for this purpose (Education Code, Section 89300). The campus President may adjust the student association fee only after the fee adjustment has been approved by a majority of students voting in a referendum established for that purpose. The required fee shall be subject to referendum at any time upon the presentation of a petition to the campus President containing the signatures of 10 percent of the regularly enrolled students at the University. Student association fees support a variety of cultural and recreational programs, childcare centers, and special student support programs. A student center fee may be established only after a fee referendum is held which approves by a two-thirds favorable vote the establishment of the fee (Education Code, Section 89304). Once bonds are issued, authority to set and adjust student center fees is governed by provisions of the State University Revenue Bond Act of 1947, including, but not limited to, Education Code sections 90012, 90027, and 90068.
The process to establish and adjust other campus-based mandatory fees requires consideration by the campus fee advisory committee and a consultation or student referendum process as established by California State University Student Fee Policy, Section III (or any successor policy). The campus President may use alternate consultation mechanisms if he/she determines that a referendum is not the best mechanism to achieve appropriate and meaningful consultation, and referendum is not required by the Education Code or Student Success Fee policy. Results of the referendum and the fee committee review are advisory to the campus President. The President may adjust campus-based mandatory fees but must request the Chancellor to establish a new mandatory fee. The President shall provide to the campus fee advisory committee a report of all campus-based mandatory fees. The campus shall report annually to the Chancellor a complete inventory of all campus-based mandatory fees.
For more information or questions, please contact the System Budget Office in the CSU Chancellor’s Office at (562) 951-4560.